Skip navigation

I completely disagree with Jon Katz, I strongly dislike reading the newspaper. Never has the paper appealed to me. From it’s floppy and broad body composition. To it’s black and white complexion, nothing even remotely stands out to me. So this week was a very interesting experiment for me.

I decided to keep it consistent and read the same paper all week. My paper of choice, The Denver Post. Now some say that the post is boring and uneventful. And to this I would retort that this is in fact true. But what do you really expect from people that are presenting the news. I found that I am so uninterested in current happenings, a minor downfall I will say. As I sat at my work on the first day of this trial I could not help but quickly skipping over the front page and business sections, heading rather for the entertainment and seemingly more interesting articles. As I read the movie reviews and horoscopes I thought to myself why would you care about politics and happenings when there are more fun things to read. I will admit that I probably think this way due to my age. An eighteen year old does not think the same as a forty-two year old. When I completed the entertainment section I found that I had lots of time on my hands to still be reading. Another section that is not too terrible to read is the technology. Ever since our discussions in class I have found I have an obsession with how technology is advancing and how we don’t even realize the effects it has on us.

Since I am not a subscriber to the newspaper, the only time I psychically have one in front of my face is at work. This presented a problem. As a broke college student was I going to spend my small amount of money on a paper for the day, the answer was no. So where do you turn when you don’t know where else to go, the Internet of course! I began reading The Denver Post online every other day. I have previously stated that I don’t like newspaper; well I do not like them on the Internet just as much. I feel like there is so much for me to look at. How am I supposed to know what to look for, what is important, and what to spend my time for the day reading? Again I found myself clicking right to entertainment news and movie reviews. These sort of news stories appeal to me. Sit me down in front of Perez Hilton and I can read for hours. Ask me about the miners in Chile, I can tell you that they got rescued slowly but surely, only due to the fact that I heard this from everyone else. I think it is important when reading a paper to know what interests you. What can keep you reading? Current events were never my thing, even in high school. I dreaded looking through a paper, trying to find something relevant to the world. This helps me know that I probably won’t want to read the front page of the paper. But ask me what celebrity just got divorced or what movie is a total dud, I can talk to you about it for hours. So I turn to what makes me happy.

Even though my hate of the paper is deeply embedded in my membrane, I didn’t mind this. It forced me to care about things that were happening. I have never had to do that and I think about some point in time I will care more. But this was a good little teaser, an intriguing trial of time and interest.

One Comment

  1. “It forced me to care about things that were happening. I have never had to do that and I think about some point in time I will care more.” This is interesting. Is the role of the paper to be there for us when we DO care? This speaks volumes to its importance, what will happen if we start caring and it is gone?

    I think, too, that you make a good point that with the internet we are quickly finding places that cater to our unique interests, but I also think you make a better point in saying that the platform of reading on a screen–when you need to browse through the day’s events–is not equal.


Leave a comment